After four years of music-related activities, ‘DO IT! Collective’ officially ceases to run as we focus our attentions 100% on the newly christened Fine Grains Records. An evolution of years of putting on events, booking diverse acts and playing out around Europe; Fine Grains will be an amalgam of new music and design, anticipating and releasing limited release records that feature artwork and sounds representative of different emergent scenes from around the world. The label launch night went off with a bang at Turkish Delight. You can check out footage and images on Resident Advisor from the Fine Grains launch here.

Please note: This DO IT! Collective site will cease to run, jump over to FINE GRAINS RECORDS site here to keep up to date with our news and events.

Like Fine Grains Records on Facebook

Follow Fine Grains Records on Twitter

FABRIC - Wednesday, 16 May 2012

Rustie - Essential Mix For BBC Radio 1Rustie — Gilded Jewel CaseDreams — BloodsportThe Blessings — WhoopiHudson Mohawke — GoooRick Ross — MMG The World is OursRustie — All Nite (Demo Version)Clams Casino — I?m God[unknown] — Unknown TitleObey City — Work MoveLove Shy — That First KissXcuse — All Right (Shiftee Remix)ASAP Twelvy — Our WorldRustie — EyezzS-Type — BillboardSurkin — Gold Island - (Bok Bok & L-vis 1990 Remix)Kavsrave — No More (Slow Jams)Lunice — Can’t Wait ToNightwave — Night BirdRustie — City Star (VIP)Baauer — Harlam ShakeHudson Mohawke — PushMy Dry Wet Mess — When We Were Wrong[unknown] — Skeletone 3Rustie — ReflectorLone — Dream AcheRustie — Love FrequencySurkin — White Knight (Jackson & His Computer Band Remix)Fox Gut Daata — Throb Black MapRustie — Crakk SquirrelRustie — PrizmMirror Maru — Swag5Destiny’s Child — Get on the BusRustie — ShifftLucky Bears — Shake Your NipplesKrystal Klear — Pistol ChauffeurObey City — FallinCid Rim — JazzJazzJazz (Dorian Concept Remix)Big Sean ft. Kanye West — Marvin Gaye & ChardonayManix — Feel Reel GoodHeezy Baby — Logobi Heezy InternationalCassie — King of Hearts (Kanye West Remix)Rustie — Hover TrapsWiz Khalifa — Guilty ConscienceRustie — Mint LotusRustie — Gold LikkDanny Brown — WititRustie — FrazzleRustie — OoompaRustie — Cat NipRustie — SawdustDrake — Lord KnowsTNGHT — R U ReadyBaauer — DumdumNicki Minaj — I Am Your LeaderEPROM — Regis Chillbin (Machinedrum Remix)Dorian Concept — ToothbrushRustie — Teen Souls BurningRustie — 444SureThe Friends of Distinction — Impressions (Dialogue)


Rustie - Essential Mix For BBC Radio 1
Rustie — Gilded Jewel Case
Dreams — Bloodsport
The Blessings — Whoopi
Hudson Mohawke — Gooo
Rick Ross — MMG The World is Ours
Rustie — All Nite (Demo Version)
Clams Casino — I?m God
[unknown] — Unknown Title
Obey City — Work Move
Love Shy — That First Kiss
Xcuse — All Right (Shiftee Remix)
ASAP Twelvy — Our World
Rustie — Eyezz
S-Type — Billboard
Surkin — Gold Island - (Bok Bok & L-vis 1990 Remix)
Kavsrave — No More (Slow Jams)
Lunice — Can’t Wait To
Nightwave — Night Bird
Rustie — City Star (VIP)
Baauer — Harlam Shake
Hudson Mohawke — Push
My Dry Wet Mess — When We Were Wrong
[unknown] — Skeletone 3
Rustie — Reflector
Lone — Dream Ache
Rustie — Love Frequency
Surkin — White Knight (Jackson & His Computer Band Remix)
Fox Gut Daata — Throb Black Map
Rustie — Crakk Squirrel
Rustie — Prizm
Mirror Maru — Swag5
Destiny’s Child — Get on the Bus
Rustie — Shifft
Lucky Bears — Shake Your Nipples
Krystal Klear — Pistol Chauffeur
Obey City — Fallin
Cid Rim — JazzJazzJazz (Dorian Concept Remix)
Big Sean ft. Kanye West — Marvin Gaye & Chardonay
Manix — Feel Reel Good
Heezy Baby — Logobi Heezy International
Cassie — King of Hearts (Kanye West Remix)
Rustie — Hover Traps
Wiz Khalifa — Guilty Conscience
Rustie — Mint Lotus
Rustie — Gold Likk
Danny Brown — Witit
Rustie — Frazzle
Rustie — Ooompa
Rustie — Cat Nip
Rustie — Sawdust
Drake — Lord Knows
TNGHT — R U Ready
Baauer — Dumdum
Nicki Minaj — I Am Your Leader
EPROM — Regis Chillbin (Machinedrum Remix)
Dorian Concept — Toothbrush
Rustie — Teen Souls Burning
Rustie — 444Sure
The Friends of Distinction — Impressions (Dialogue)


FINE GRAINS Records web launch

Fine Grains records is a new music/design project from the Scottish graphic designer and co-founder of the successful DO IT! and The Drop club nights, Alexander Horne. The label will continue Horne’s precedent for anticipating and recognising the most exciting future sounds from scenes around the world and combine it with limited edition artwork, events and international collaborations. For their website launch, Fine Grains invites highly rated Russian beatmaker OL, UK producer ¥OIN and Norwegian skweee musician BEATBULLY to perform alongside Fine Grains founder Horne (Uraki Riddim) and VJ Pop Com.

Facebook event page

RA event page


Looking forward to the 'THIS IS NOW' exhibition at ™51. A collection of some my all time favourite illustrators and graphic designers brought together by Oslo based Oh Yeah Studio. I will be bringing an eclectic crate of records old and new to play out on the opening night so came say hei and check out the artwork if in the area.


TNGHT (HudMo/Lunice) - SXSW 2012

Colo ‘Midday Sun’ EP

Colo’s debut ’ Midday Sun’ EP on TAKE Records is an eloquent collection of contemporary UK electronic music, ever so slightly akin to some early Floating Points productions. The fact that the release also includes impressive remixes from further UK luminaries such as George Fitzgerald has led me to believe that this could be one of those timeless additions to my record collection, and potentially a contender for one of the better records to come out this year. The slowly shuffling hypnotic house beat from the first track on the EP, ‘Picture of You’, conveys the mood of a newly found dusty yet vintage interpretation of FP’s Vacuum Boogie). Surprisingly the Colo EP is not yet available on vinyl, or perhaps not so surprising given the delays on pressings apparently due to record day, the record label suggests that it will be coming soon.

Follow TAKE Records on Twitter here for updates on the Colo EP and more

Krystal Klear ‘We’re Wrong’

Recent RBMA graduate and unashamed student of the playful sounds of ’80s boogie and New Jack Swing, Krystal Klear continues to see his stock rise with a second release on Dublin imprint All City. “We’re Wrong” doesn’t mess around: A straight up four-to-the-floor house beat and clap ride headfirst into a piano-led breakdown around the minute mark. From then on, it’s a euphoric ride of piano stabs, looped female and male vocals and a bouncing ’90s house beat…

Read the full Resident Advisor review here

GB (Gifted & Blessed) ‘Dogon’

Dublin label/shop/music mecca All City are having a prolific start to the year, supplying us with over a release a month as we enter Spring. The first release from this year was from LA producer GB (Gifted & Blessed) ‘7 in 24’. A real smack of Detroit from the previously predominantly experimental hip hop beatsmith, from spacey Drexciya-scapes on 7 in 24 to the teasing acid tinged electro of ‘Dog on’, you can hear the track in my latest mix for Tsugi mag here.

Read the Resident Advisor review by 

Etta James 1938 - 2012 (Knxwledge tribute)

Etta James sadly passed away last month. An incredible vocalist who was often rated among the top 100 musicians of all time. Not often I like to mourn over people I never met nor knew but, it seems right to put something out in respect some weeks after her passing. The Knxwledge re-work of ‘Since I Fell For You’ being the most fitting way to do so, merging vintage Etta sounds with Knxwledge’s classy chopped up instrumental beats. Check out more of his great sounds here.